What is the phone FRP?
FRP is a security feature on Android phones with Android Operating System Version 5.1 (Lollipop) and higher. The Factory Reset Protection (FRP) provides a built-in security feature you are able to use that protects your device and information, including screen locks and data encryptions. The FRP is enabled automatically when a Google account has been registered on the device and will be disabled if the Google account is removed from the device prior to the Factory Data Reset. Once the Factory Reset Protection (FRP) has been activated, it will prevent use of your device after a Factory Data Reset in an untrusted environment. This means if your device has been Factory Reset in any other way than Settings > General Management > Reset > Factory Data Reset, the FRP Lock will be enabled.
When performing a Factory Data Reset, all settings are returned to the factory default settings and all personal data is erased, including files and downloaded apps. If the Google FRP is enabled, you will need to enter your Google account credentials before you can do a factory reset on the device.
If your device has been lost or stolen, and has been Factory Data Reset in an untrusted environment, this will trigger the FRP lock.
What do I need to know about FRP?
If you want to reset your device to factory default settings in an untrusted environment, ensure that you know your Google account login credentials as you will need it to log in once you have reset your device. If you want to reset your device to factory default settings, but don’t remember your Google account credentials, you can action one of the following:
- Check your Google account settings and reset your password via the device or at www.google.com
- If you have reset your password, it can take 24-72 hours for the password reset to sync with all devices registered to the account.
- If you enter this password incorrectly on the device, the time period restarts again for another 24-72 hours to sync with your registered device
If you already reset your device, but don’t remember your Google username and/or password, the device cannot be used. If this is the case, please action the following:
- If you know your Google account username but cannot remember the password, you can reset your password on the device, or at www.google.com. It can take 24-72 hours for a new password to sync with all registered devices. Try logging in to your device with the new password after the suggested timeframe.
- If you cannot remember any of your Google account information, and the FRP Lock has been triggered, visit one of our Authorised Service Centres to receive professional assistance. Please ensure that you have your Proof of Purchase to show evidence of ownership of your device.
If you want to reset your device to factory default settings, ensure that you know your Google account login credentials as you will need it to log in once you have reset your device